The greatest baseball match

I was going to write about Da capo, but who cares about that? Clannad’s back!

I can’s believe this, for the first time in months I’m actually writing an episode post (Code Geass doesn’t count )…….. The power of Clannad is strong……..

My friend and I were watching it together, and besides the fact that we were both giggling all the way through, it was a really enjoyable first episode. Sure, it’s not as funny as getting locked in a shack with Kyou, but this was seriously funny. Especially this.

1 sentence summary: Everyone goes to play a baseball game with hilarious events and a bit of heartwarming fluff at the end.

One of the first things that I noticed was the fact that everyone besides Tomoyo and Tomoya sounds different. Especially Nagisa, who sounds higher and Sunohara, who sounds lower (it might just be because I haven’t heard them in a long time though). I’ve also noticed that They’ve made both Sunohara and Tomoya a little bit taller, it’s always nice when the animators put effort in the little things like that.

I am SURE that he’s okay.

That NEVER gets old!

This was the only part of the episode that I had a problem with. If the studio can’t draw feet that’s planted solidly to the ground, they should just avoid drawing feet. (Some other examples of bad plantage would Simoun and Shakugan no shana)

Sorry, Sunohara, no matter how funny you are, Sugimani had already claimed the spot as the funniest side character by trampling all over you…

The truly strange thing is that it’s all true…

Not many people know this, but Misae is one of the best characters in the entire story. Her arc was really good, in fact, I can easily say that her story is 4 times better than that of Tomoyo’s. Too bad her role in the anime is so small… I hope that her story will get animated though, you can easily fit it into a single episode.

… aww…

I can’t help thinking that the girls were placed there sole to distract the players.

She’s absolutely adorable. I haven’t went through her path in the game yet, but as soon as the game translation is completely finished I’m going there first.

Oh nothing, it’s just a slow and painful death, that’s all.

AND NOW WE GET TO SEE THE INCREDIBLE TALENT FROM OUR CAST!

AKIHO, WITH HIS KILLER PITCH!

SUNOHARA, WITH HIS SQUATTING!

AND HIS WEIRD BUTT WRIGGLING!

AND EMO FACIAL CONTORTIONS!

KYOU, MISAE, AND TOMOYO, FOR THEIR EXCELLENT HITTING SKILLS! (I wish I had some of that talent, I can only hit the ball half the time when I play soft ball)

NAGISA, FOR LOOKING CUTE! (Sorry, I can’t say much about her physical abilities)

TOMOYA, FOR THIS EXCELLENT CATCH AND SEXY VOICE! (Comon, not too many people can catch something that was thrown by Tomoyo)

KOTOMI, FOR BEING PURE AWESOME! (She IS my favorite character after all)

Why? … that’s just too cruel…..

YOSHINO, FOR HIS FIERCE AND BURNING SPIRIT!

By the way, not many people know this, but this is actually a parody of Tomoyo after. When her little brother walked in on Tomoyo and Tomoya being intimate together, she fell into despair and took on this exact same post. Well, not EXACTLY the same, but close enough.

RYOU, FOR BEING A FAITHFUL CHEERLEADER!

TOMOYA (again), FOR LOOKING GREAT!

KYOANI, FOR MAKING A CG BASEBALL LOOK GOOD!

By the way, the next episode is about Sanae’s affair with Sunohara.

No, I am NOT kidding.

That was a throughly enjoyable episode, I’m just SO happy that it started again! (I’d be squealing if that was physically possible)

13 thoughts on “The greatest baseball match

  1. Pingback: Clannad ~AFTER STORY~ First Impressions: This Is The Tale Of Yoshino Shuusuke. A Man. A Hero. Nay, A GOD. « Anime Chatter

  2. My goodness. I don’t know why he doesn’t know that Sanae-san is Nagisa’s mom.

    By the way, I really walked out the room when I saw Yoshino Yuusuke babbling all those senseless words.

  3. @blissmo: sorry, I don’t know what rookies are……
    @Kitsune: I don’t know what Princess Nine is either…….
    @xephfyre: YEAH.
    @omisyth: YES, THE MAN OF MEN WILL LIVE ON FOREVER ALONG WITH HIS EPIC SPEECHES!
    @EvilDevil: Burns the eyes? Hohoho…….
    @foomafoo: Don’t you remember when Sanae went as a teacher for Fuuko? He asked then too but never got an answer. (I can’t believe I actually remembered that…)

  4. Princess Nine is a drama/slice-of-life anime about all girl baseball team.

    – Directed by Tomomi MOCHIZUKI (Kimagure Orange Road, Maison Ikkoku, Ranma ½)
    – Art direction by Hiroshi KATO (Ah! My Goddess, Blood: The Last Vampire, Evangelion: 1.0 You Are [Not] Alone, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei)
    – Editing by Shigeru NISHIYAMA (Aria the Animation, Azumanga Daioh, Excel Saga, Honey and Clover, Ouran High School Host Club, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time)

    Anime News Network
    Opening

  5. I don’t know baseball, all I know is ICE HOCKEY! Ahh pre-season has started, my beloved Red Wings are finally back.

    Back on topic though I’ve never watched Clannad so sorry I can’t comment!

  6. hmm…

    I really like how to blogged this. xD so many pics and not flooded with words.

    @____@ and I have looked for the CLANNAD game, and I just cannon find it…

    where should I go?

Leave a Reply

