Secrects

Everyone has secrets, they are human and that’s just a part of human nature. But when people try to hide their secrets or when they try to get others to accept their secrets, problems will arise.

When I was going through Minatsu’s story, I noticed something. For those of you who have never played the game (it might be the same in the anime, but I wouldn’t know, I never watched it), MInatsu is a highly advanced robot with human feelings and humane abilities (like the ability to feel muscle pain and to make love). But, because of that, her creators faced the wrath of society. Why would scientists make something like that? Why did they think that society needed such a thing? When I read that , I couldn’t help but think that it was a metaphor for the creators of Da capo. Eroges doesn’t have the greatest reputation in society, people will always think that they are only played by people who are overweight, wears glasses, live with their parents, and have no life. So imagine how a story writer or a [programmer for such a thing would be treated. How would they present themselves, how to they explain their jobs? In the game, it was said that the scientists loved Minatsu, because they wanted to create a human being, because they saw her as their daughter. Isn’t the game the same thing? It’s their work and they are proud of it, but there’s no way that they can say something like at a family meeting. So these things are hidden, avoided, with a layer of facades over the truth. “Yeah, I’m a writer.” “Actually, I’m working as a programmer right now.” “I’m employed by a game company to design characters.” Would anyone proudly say that ” Sure, I’m working on an eroge right now”? I have no idea but I don’t think so.

Another thing that I noticed is the way society treated things that are different. You know how it feels, say that you like anime and people will judge you a thousand times over. Just because Minatsu is a robot and she tried to hide it, people around her reject her even before they had a chance to talk to her, and just when people were starting to get to know her, people in the school board tried to avoid all possible problems and simply kick MInatsu out of the school. Doesn’t that reflect situation in real life? If you see a young child playing with a toy that had a slightly loose part on it, the first thing that you are supposed to do is take it away from him. No one wants to have a child choke on a toy part when they could have helped him, and no one wants to risk their place in society simply because an insignificant robot had tried to go to school. Society is cold and unforgiving, everyone knows that, but aren’t we a part of society, doesn’t the actions of society reflect our own actions? If that’s true then why is the world this way?

A few days ago I received a comment where a reader was wondering why a guy would think that way. Is it just so strange that I’m a girl who has this kind of interests? In eyes of most people it would be a definite “YES”. I do hide the fact that I like anime from people who I interact with in real life save a few friends. But don’t you think it’s strange? People will always say things like “real life caugt up with me so I couldn’t post for a while” or “real life’s forcing me to leave for a while”. Why do people treat this world as some kind of separate place from the “real world”? What makes the internet any less real? Aren’t we reading and writing for other, live human beings?

Not only do people hide their persona on the internet from the people they regularly interact with in real life, people will often hide their real selves from the internet. It’s just so easy to leave out bits of truth, to re-invent yourself as someone different. A million things that you can’t do in your everyday life, a million things that can’t be said, internet serves as a way to release all of that. Who cares if you think that you’re too short to get a guy to notice you? Who cares if you’re never gonna get that raise you’ve been eyeing? Who cares if no one talks to you because you have a bad reputation? You can start over, it’s a fresh life, but people will still judge you. I write for the round robin, I have the name of a pastry, but a guy took one look at my post on Gundam00 and thought that I was a guy. Do I care if I’m viewed as a guy? No! Do I care that people judge other so fast? Yes. Can’t a person just go somewhere, somewhere they don’t be judged, somewhere where they can truly have a fresh start? No, I don’t think so. No matter what, we can’t escape, it’s part of human nature.

As much as I dislike these judgments, I make them too, probably more than you have. I can’t help it, just like how society can’t help it, just like most humans can’t help it. Your image of me is probably much, MUCH different from what I’m actually like, but that doesn’t really matter in this world, does it? People can’t change the way that they are, just like MInatsu can’t change the fact that she’s an robot. But if Minatsu can get her happy ending, I think that we can too.

This is just a big jumble of my thoughts that will often stray from the topic. But you know what? That doesn’t matter. I want to, right now, thank you for reading this.

3 thoughts on “Secrects

  1. Awesome post Choux.

    Can’t a person just go somewhere, somewhere they don’t be judged, somewhere where they can truly have a fresh start? No, I don’t think so. No matter what, we can’t escape, it’s part of human nature.

    Sadly very true, we make judgements all the time and I’m sure people make judgements about us just the same.

  2. Choux, thank you for this thoughtful post 🙂

    But, because of that, her creators faced the wrath of society. Why would scientists make something like that? Why did they think that society needed such a thing?

    Probably, for the same reasons people make children and curiosity. Human can be thought of as a very complex machine. Such advanced robot is no different from human and should be given equal rights. Of course we can talk about the soul, duality, and monism, but I don’t want to go there now.

    people will always think that they are only played by people who are overweight, wears glasses, live with their parents, and have no life

    That is a stereotype. Not all people think in such a way.

    because they wanted to create a human being, because they saw her as their daughter. Isn’t the game the same thing? It’s their work and they are proud of it, but there’s no way that they can say something like at a family meeting. So these things are hidden, avoided, with a layer of facades over the truth.

    Children and products of creative activities are similar in some ways. Whether a person would say exactly what s/he does depends on the person and how comfortable s/he is with the work. Some people wouldn’t mind telling at all, but, as you say, many people would.

    Another thing that I noticed is the way society treated things that are different. You know how it feels, say that you like anime and people will judge you a thousand times over.

    One of the sources of prejudice is ignorance. People might react to anime in a very negative way because they don’t know much about it.

    no one wants to risk their place in society simply because an insignificant robot had tried to go to school. Society is cold and unforgiving, everyone knows that, but aren’t we a part of society, doesn’t the actions of society reflect our own actions? If that’s true then why is the world this way?

    “Be the change you want to see in the world,” said one wise person and acted accordingly.

    People will always say things like “real life caugt up with me so I couldn’t post for a while” or “real life’s forcing me to leave for a while”. Why do people treat this world as some kind of separate place from the “real world”? What makes the internet any less real? Aren’t we reading and writing for other, live human beings?

    People refer to the “real life” because activities they engage in serve as an escape from reality to them. However, it is very important to remember that whether you are playing an MMORPG, chatting with someone, or posting a comment on the internet, you are interacting with real people that have very real emotions. Often people underestimate the impact the words can have on others. One should uphold the moral standards regardless of the mode of communication.

    A few days ago I received a comment where a reader was wondering why a guy would think that way. Is it just so strange that I’m a girl who has this kind of interests? …a guy took one look at my post on Gundam00 and thought that I was a guy. Do I care if I’m viewed as a guy? No! Do I care that people judge other so fast? Yes. Can’t a person just go somewhere, somewhere they don’t be judged, somewhere where they can truly have a fresh start? No, I don’t think so. No matter what, we can’t escape, it’s part of human nature.

    Indeed, it is in human nature to use heuristics that might give rise to stereotyping. However, the solution is not finding some utopic place. The solution depends on the extend and type of the prejudice, but one way to approach the problem is to engage in an open conversation with the person. Sometimes it does not work, other times it does.

    People can’t change the way that they are, just like MInatsu can’t change the fact that she’s an robot.

    Yes, we can! Humans are humans, but we can certainly change behavior and cognition of ourselves and others. “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” Nelson Mandela

    If you want to learn more about the ways people judge others, and what we can do about it, I suggest reading some books on Social Psychology 🙂

  3. Oh my god. What a great post. I loved it also.

    There are so many things you’ve pointed out that pertain to all of us. And, as much as I might not want to admit it, sometimes I think I hide things from my real life on the internet, and vice versa. I can’t think of an example right now, but I’m SURE I’ve done it before.

    I don’t think this will change anytime soon, because it’s the internet. On the internet, you can be anything that you wanted or wished to be, and that’s something that can’t be granted in real life. Awesome post, loved your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

