What are YOU voting for?

Seems like only around 200 people had voted in the preliminaries, so I’ll try to do a bit more advertising.

THE GUYS WHO TRANSLATED CROSS CHANNEL FOR YOU IS ASKING YOU TO VOTE FOR THEIR NEXT PROJECT!

The primary voting session is already over (with Yoake Mae yori Ruri Iro na having 0 votes, Ha! …sorry, I just really have a thing against that game). There are now 10 candidates left, and I’ll try to give you guys a brief introduction to them. All summaries were taken from VNDB.

36617110471a4b2697963d42632343cf2b098c3

Baldr Sky Dive1 “LostMemory” (40 votes)

When Kou is asleep in his bed, a scream of a girl wakes him up. What goes on in front of him is a battle full of gunshots and flashes of bombs exploding. He also finds that he wears an iron armor. “What’s this?” He doesn’t know what’s going on, but he gets out of the virtual world with Rain, who says she is his junior partner. They arrive a ruined city and Kou gets to know the fact he is a special shumicram (robot) user and graduated from his school several years ago. His lost momory that might have had a significant meaning to his life…. The name of the case that slowly appears from his memory is…, “Gray Christmas” “What is Gray Christmas? How come I was investigating the case?” He finally knows the whole story of the case and its meaning…. Peaceful life that was supposed to last forever…. It, however, ends all of a sudden….

While I DO love the art, and the opening song by Kotoko is fantastic, there’s fighting in this thing and I’m the type that dies within seconds in anything that requires hand eye coordination (why do you think I play eroges?). So I’m not pumping for this one. Other people seem to like this though, seeing as it’s leading in the poll).

603

Sekien no Inganock -What a Beautiful People- (36 votes)

Inganock, a city isolated from the outside, a city where everything is distorted, even the sun. It all started ten years ago, at a day called as ‘rebirth’. Then residents of the city slowly changed into beings that are partially human and partially animal.

To this day, only a few still look fully human on the outside. One of these is Gee, a former medical student, now an illegal doctor that walks the city and cures the poor for free. He changed too, but only in the inside and his change brought him a mysterious ability that he uses to heal people that keep mutating further every day.

He has a few ‘friends’ if you can call them that. One of them is a black steel cat girl called Ati. Another one is an old friend from his medical school that he just met again after ten years, Salem. And the games story really begins when he encounters a little girl called Keea…

Once again, fantastic art. The premise seems interesting and apparently it is going to be a nightmare to translate. I think it’d be good if this was brought to english.

Swan Song (32 votes)

Couldn’t find any safe pictures of this one. Can’t say that I like the art style so I don’t think you’re missing out.

It is a snowing Christmas Eve… Everything seems so peaceful when a huge earthquake occurs. The earthquake causes the city to be in ruin, and the surviving people need to find ways to stay alive. Some go crazy and rob others, some cling onto God, some gather to live together. The 6 main characters meet at a church while they were trying to find shelter from the snow. What will they see and experience in this extreme situation…?

This is supposed to be absolutely fantastic…but I don’t know…I’ve never had a good impression of anything with a naked girl on the cover.

5e5132c1502160_full

Gore Screaming Show (28 votes)

Two hundred years ago an unspeakable evil roamed the Japanese forests of Kurehito, slaughtering women and unleashing catastrophic havoc beyond the boundaries of human imagination. Finding no possible means to effectively destroy this primordial horror, the surviving victims began to appease the entity as a deity, creating an inadvertent opportunity which made it possible to imprison the monster within the confines of a consecrated site. Freed from this terrible nightmare, the people rebuilt their community and lives, prospering through the decades into modern times as a vibrant (though somewhat rural) Japanese town. So too has the forgotten malevolence continued to evolve and change, unbarring its jail and forging unlikely alliances, all the while seeking to sate a grisly hunger that has endured for two centuries.

…Once again, the art is bearable, but barely. However, I’m attracted to the gothic themes. I’m not complaining if this one gets chosen.

himawari_top
Himawari(25 votes)

That’s one small step for man-kind, one giant leap for a man.

But now, two years after the crash of the SA-DAN080; the catastrophe that stole my parents and my memory, with Asuka and the director by my side, these painful memories are all but forgotten..

..or so I thought.

Until the the girl with the name of a constellation fell from the sky.

Adorable, plus it’s regarded by many as the best doujin game after Tsukihime and Higurashi. The writer also did Narcissu3 but I haven’t played that yet so I don’t really know. I voted for this one and I REALLY hope that this would win.

inze
RuiTomo (22 votes)

Tomo Wakutsu was brought up by his mother as a girl due to a small mark he has on his body. After his mother’s death, he discovers via her will that she emphasizes Tomo continue to live as a female, and following this, Tomo starts to go through more troubles in his life. Tomo soon discovers that he is linked with five girls who are around his age as a second year high school student. These girls happen to have the same mark he has, and also have been going through hardships in their lives. Tomo and these five girls decide to form a pact to stay together and support each other to solve each of their problems and to bring peace to their lives.

…yup, the main character’s a trap. This reminds me oddly of family project, so I’m not going near it.

cc8dd502
Saihate no IMA (18 votes)

This game tells the story of seven long-time friends. How they grew closer or further apart as they got older. Story is told from the perspective of one of these characters and all the dialogue is presented using a blog-like interface.

Can’t find any additional information on this thing. So far, I’m not really looking forward to his, and I think this will have a low chance of winning.

20090316234031
Hoshizora no Memoria (17 votes)

The protagonist You Kogasaka is moving back into his hometown for the first time in several years. He meets a mysterious girl who resembles his old friend. She introduces herself as Mare, a shinigami. She also likes stars and appears at the observatory which is the best place to see the stars. You also likes to see stars, so they often meet at the observatory and enjoy seeing stars together…. There is the astronomy club at his school and he belongs to it. The club isn’t, however, recognized as an official club because of a lack of members. To turn it into a fully-fledged club, You and other club members are coming up with battle plans to enroll new recruits…

I WANT this game. Yes, I am biased because this has the best art out of all the games but don’t you like pretty things? I’m also biased because reading full moon wo sagashite made me love anything with shinigamies in it. I voted for this in the preliminaries and reeeeeally hope it will get chosen.

never7pc_web
Never7 -the end of infinity- (15 votes)

You play as Makoto, a student who never attends the lectures at the school. As a punishment, you have to attend an extra seminar on an island with other classmates. However, when you arrive on the island, strange thing start happening. A girl is found dead on April 6th, with a small bell in her hand. Immediately after that, you found yourself in the bed and see the date – April 1st! Was the vision of the girl just a dream, or do you possess a power to predict events? This is what you will have to find out, as a series of strange deaths make your seminar much more suspenseful that you have thought.

Let me tell you something. People are voting for this because they like ever17. This is no where as good as ever17. Why do you think Hirameki international translated ever17? I’ll tell you why. It’s because Ever17 was the best in the series and the one with the most selling potential (I haven’t played 12 riven yet but I CAN tell you that remember11 bombed for a reason). In fact, this is even more confusing than remember11, which hurts my brain and I don’t want to think about. It also has horrendous art and average music. I’m hoping from the bottom of my heart that this won’t get chosen.

Extravaganza(14 votes)

No picture because they are all disturbing.

Hopeless days…. Yumemi lost her family, friends and her ordinary life…. and she is confined in a dark room and gives birth to a tentacle. She holds it and cries…. “Do you wanna come with me?” She suddenly gets freedom and goes out of the room. There is no place to go but she is not alone… a tentacle snuggles to her….

This is creepy, like Saya no Uta creepy. Even if they translate it I’m not going near it. End of story.

IF YOU CARE ABOUT ANY OF THESE TITLES, REGISTER AND VOTE!!!

Well, the actual voting hasn’t started yet, think of this as a preview. I’ll tell you guys the moment that voting starts (unless it starts when I’m on my trip, then you’re on your own).

9 thoughts on “What are YOU voting for?

  1. I’m with you on Hoshizora, I fell in love with it the moment I first saw it.

    Personally, I’m hoping for:
    1. Hoshizora no Memoria
    2. Gore Screaming Show
    3. Himawari

    Can’t wait for voting to start! 🙂

  2. MinDeaD BlooD and Gore Screaming Show are the only games from BlackCyc I’d recommend for story, although you need to pass through plenty of Hscenes and some disturbing things.. Extravanganza is just WTF, lol.

    Having recently finished Kitto, Sumi wataru Asairo Yori mo, I can’t believe such an amazing game only had 1 vote. Makes me sad orz

    • That’s probably because it’s so new, hasn’t had time for rabid fans to spread the love yet. ^.^
      Never played MinDeaD BlooD(can’t read japanese), but the opening is awesome (I’m a big fan of Yousei Yui). I thought it was an otome game at first because of the cover /(ㄒoㄒ)/

    • Good, now if we can gather more of us we’re sure to win the poll. Maybe we can hatch a plan to hypnotize more people into voting with us……Hmm……

  3. “This is creepy, like Saya no Uta creepy”

    While I agree that GSS is creepy, please don’t disregard Saya so easily without trying it. The guro content can be changed in it, and it isn’t that disturbing as you seemingly think so. (Believe me I avoided it too for the same reasons, but God… how I regretted it later when I finally played it).
    Additionally I would be really interested what you might think about it, so it would be really great if you can squeeze SnU in your backlog somehow.
    Believe me, (without any exaggeration now) it is one of the most romantic and touching story I have ever read during my years in VNs (or any other media too for that matter). Don’t avoid it only because it seems creepy.

    • No, I DID play saya no uta. I don’t regret playing it, it’s just that the premise reminded me of Saya no Uta and I have a thing against tentacles.

      • Oh my bad then. I was under the opposite impression, so excuse me for presuming it incorrectly.

        In any case, you don’t have to worry about neither Extravaganza, nor GSS, since Inganock won ^^ . I wanted that, or Swan Song to win so I’m really satisfied now.

Leave a Reply

