What I’ve watched so far…

Kagura's Death

Sorry this is so late, work has been damn hellacious, but the big project is finally over, at least my part of it.
I did want to get this out before my surgery at the end of the week though, since I doubt I’ll be lucid enough to post for a few days afterwards.
I’ll probably spend my post-op days catching up on the few shows I’ve watched, but here are my impressions of them so far.

InuYasha The Final Act

Kagura no kaze

Sesshoumaru-sama

For those of you who know me, there was probably no doubt in your mind that this would be top of the list. Suwa-san got the whole crew back to work on this and I’m so glad that he did.

The feeling when watching this, for those of us who were originally fans really does seem like it just never left. I get so stupid happy just from watching this show.

I think maybe because it was the show that got me back into anime, I really do just have great affection for this show, the characters, the story and the wonderful actors who have worked on it.

The pacing is pretty fast, but then that is probably to be expected since they are trying to fit 150 ish chapters I think into only 26 eps, and the order of some things seems to have shifted, but both are something that I can live with and don’t spoil it.

The second episode, ‘Kagura no kaze’ (Kagura’s wind) was so well done. I have to say it was beautifully acted by both Narita-san and Oogami-san.
The resignation in Kagura’s voice when she believed Sesshoumaru only came because he thought she was Naraku and Narita’s voice as he told her that he knew it was her when he came were just so spot on, it was so perfect.

The scene as she dies and becomes the wind, becomes free from Naraku just as she has always wanted, but only through death, was just so poignant, so well animated. The blood spattered petal on the broken Toukijin was a nice touch.

Ahh I just love Narita’s voice, David Kaye does a wonderful job on the English dub, but Narita, hands down is always going to be Sesshoumaru to me.

I loved both the OP and ED theme for this, but I don’t think there has ever been an OP and ED for InuYasha that I didn’t like.

Kimi ni todoke

Sawako and Kazehaya

I was looking forward to this as soon as I had heard about it, since I love the manga so much and I don’t think I’ve enjoyed a high school shoujo setting as much as this one since Koukou Debut.
The fact production I.G was involved also gave me high hopes and I wasn’t disappointed at all by the first episode.

I have to agree with Choux on the OP theme, its so beautiful to look at and I love the music that goes along with it, very soft and gentle, very befitting of the budding romance between Sawako and Kazehaya.

This is for sure a show I will continue to watch, Sawako and Kazehaya are just so damned cute!

Book of Bantorra

Volken

The animation is pretty decent, gonna agree with Choux again though, I could do without some of the character design, such as ‘The Director’. What is up with bitchy chicks and huge breasts? She reminds me of Tsunade from Naruto, except she’s way more of a stone cold bitch.

Other than that though I am drawn in by the story, or maybe its just that I like that dark and depressing air with the hint of magic.

With humans being turned into living bombs and being treated as little more than cattle, it will be interesting to see if Colo can break free of the mold and become more than his label. Volken certainly seems to wish the ‘meats’ would value themselves more.

I’ll be sticking with this one for a little bit longer, after hearing the OP theme a couple of times it began to grow on me, but really neither it nor the ED theme really stood out to me.

The Sacred Blacksmith

Luke

There isn’t really anything amazing about this anime, but it does have a certain charm to it.
Cecily is pretty damn useless, but she does have spirit and determination and so hopefully as the series goes on she’ll pick up some battle skills.
Luke is certainly more than just your average Blacksmith so it will be interesting to learn more about him.
I think I would have preferred it if Cecily looked less cute, but I can live with it, I’ve seen worse fanservice type outfits after all.

Again nothing really stood out regarding the OP and ED themes, but I think I’ll continue on with this show too.

Nyan Koi

zomg a curse

I haven’t read the manga for this so I can’t really compare it to that. I’m going to give the show a go and see if it improves, but the first episode didn’t really leave me feeling OMG I HAVE TO KEEP WATCHING THIS!

It was pretty funny in places, but nothing that had you dying with laughter, though I do love the attitude of the cats πŸ™‚

There isn’t anything particular special about the animation or OP and ED themes, everything about this show is pretty much your standard fare. But it definitely has comedic potential, so hopefully they build on that.

3 thoughts on “What I’ve watched so far…

  1. Yes, Inuyasha OP and ED were nice πŸ™‚ I also love Narita’s voice πŸ™‚ It’s good to see all these characters again πŸ™‚

    Kimi ni Todoke was nice as well. I liked color design and outstanding performance by Mamiko Noto πŸ™‚

    Most things are good in Bantorra, especially Romi Paku, but I didn’t like the story and characters.

    I like fantasy setting of Sacred Blacksmith πŸ™‚

    Nyan Koi is about kitties, so that means I must watch this πŸ˜› I am just waiting for Yuu Kobayashi’s character to arrive πŸ™‚

  2. @ Perez Christina Something got you pondering?

    @ Kitsune Narita just has that wonderfully deep voice and for Kagura’s death it just had this wonderful softness to it. I enjoy hearing his voice no matter what the anime, but I really do love to hear him as Sesshoumaru.

    The story is one of the things I like about Bantorra, but I like a bit of darkness to a tale.
    As much as Fullmetal Alchemist had humor in it, it also had a very dark side which I think really gave that anime a lot of depth.
    I don’t think I’m going to enjoy Bantorra as much as I do Fullmetal, but I think I’m going to find it interesting at least.

    Sacred Blacksmith just made me smile, I think it was Cecily’s enthusiasm.

    Kitties! How could I not watch Nyan Koi for that alone! I must say the cats are the reason I’m going to stick with it.

Leave a Reply

