Giniro impressions

untitled

“No one has ever given me a name.”

No one cared about her enough to name her.

He has given up on bothering to remember his own.

She was a prostitute, locked up for too long, crippled by a blade to her leg.

He was a bandit, whose family was killed by the plague and who has no choice but to kill so he can have 3 more days worth of food.

But neither of those things really mattered. The two of them had no place in the world.

“It’s going to be fine, it’s going to be fine, it’s going to be fine…”

He said that to his younger siblings when they were being burned to death by the people that he trusted.

“I want to see the moon.”

She said that as she laid in a cave, dying.

Giniro is a tragedy. I knew that from the beginning. What I didn’t know that it’s going to be like Air and Narcissu. I think that the same people who worked on Giniro later went on to create narcissu (a track from Side 2nd is from Giniro, and the last line is almost identical to the first line of Giniro). When the iris showed up, I couldn’t take it anymore. It was likeKanna juggling in air, it was like Mariam’s last prayer in A thousand splendid suns. It was beautiful, but I wish with all my heart that these two innocent people didn’t have to go through the things placed in front of them.

6 thoughts on “Giniro impressions

  1. Nearly forgot about this, I remember seeing it on the forums….is this game in chapters?

    On another note, I am very glad きっと、澄みわたる朝色よりも is getting a Chinese translation, loved the op the first time I saw it. I know it will be an epic VN, just need to be patient…

    • Yes, but each chapter is pretty much standalone. Only the first chapter’s translated, but the original game also came in english (very bad english, but still english).
      I’m really looking forward to that game too, the opening’s so well done.

  2. Oh Giniro… It was the first visual novel I ever read, at least 6 years ago. It was the first (lol, obviously) visual novel to make me cry, and since it left such a huge impression on me, probably the reason I went on to also love series like AIR and Narcissu(which I need to finish) actually. As well as any other tragic VN. Siiiigh.

    About a month ago, I actually got the urge to do “Ayame” fanart, but I despaired thinking no one would remember who she even was…

    • Yeah, I don’t think that anyone would know her…sigh…
      Still, I think it’s pretty amazing that you actually came across Giniro 6 years ago, I mean, pretty much nothing was translated back then.

  3. Yeah, Giniro is totally made of win. I played through the engrish translation myself, and I have to say that if someone manages to read it to like chapter two or three-ish, then s/he won’t care about the translation anymore because it’s just so immersing and soul-crushingly awesome. I actually think that chapter one (the one you’ve read) is one of the weaker chapters in terms of ‘Baw’.
    Such a shame it got translated so poorly :/ .

    And yeah it’s written by the Narcissu writer.

Leave a Reply

