11eyes: regular vs crossover

Pro Crossover…

More story, more story, more story. There are additions to the original scenario, plus an entirely original story with a new protagonist.

More art (plus the possibility of some of the original art being re-drawn).

It’s entirely translated into (traditional) Chinese.

I feel morally obligated to support a company that’s actually translating a decent title.

Pro PC…

Better system. There’s barely anything in Crossover to begin with, but T-time (as usual) made the cheapest port possible (there isn’t even an option to change resolutions or scroll back to stuff you read before, can you believe that?) I actually think that this is worse than Remember11 in some areas, and you KNOW it’s bad when I bring up Remember11.

It’s partially translated into simplified Chinese, which is better for my eyes (the main story is finished, but not the cross eyes scenarios, which counts for 30% of the story). A completed patch is coming out, it’s just a matter of time.

I will always support fan translations, they always have more love.

It works on my computer (I have to use another computer for Crossover because my soon-to-be-replaced piece of junk can’t play it).

Not so sure…

Different voices (completely revamped the cast when they did Crossover, though I’m not sure if they’re better). They’re the same, but Crossover has more voices.

Different resolution of art (Crossover is bigger, but the backgrounds are just stretched out and the event CGs are cropped).

Aye aye aye aye aye……What to do, what to do…

29 thoughts on “11eyes: regular vs crossover

  1. The artwork for crossover also feels a lot more crisp and clean. Not to mention that UI is less crowded with the smaller box and focuses the eyes better… nice.

    “I feel morally obligated to support a company that’s actually translating a decent title.”
    Wait, a legit company translated this commercially?

    Seeing as traditional -> simplified is like a 1-1 trans, I don’t really get why they have trouble finishing one when the other is done.

    • Yes. A taiwan company (T-time) ported it and translated it. This was after a fan translation group started working on the original 11eyes, and they’re completely different (I did a line by line check, and so far there isn’t a single line that’s translated the same way).

  2. Crossover of course. It gives you a lot more overall than the original.
    If I were you, I’d wait/play something else, until your “soon-to-be-replaced piece of junk” is replaced, and go with Crossover.

  3. The simplified chinese is independent of the official translation, which was announced and released very late into the project cycle. Sometimes in those cases, the fans finish the translations anyways independently of the commercial release.

    Regarding the system, I don’t think it’s really T-Time’s fault. It takes a lot of time to port an engine, and even more to start adding features to it. Even many high budget games does this, like Lost Colonies and Borderlands (though not the fixed resolution, no full screen part). In the very least, you know you’re getting everything the 360 version is getting. No idea if the artwork was redone or not, but since only one of the translation is finished, I guess I’ll be playing the T-TIme one.

    Honestly though, I find the commercial translations in Chinese be pretty good most of the time, sometimes even better than the fan translations. Maybe that’s just because I’m from Taiwan and most commercial translations are in traditional Chinese, who knows. They are certainly leaps and bounds better than mangagamer and jast usa.

  4. Also, I would like to mention that in T-Time’s Crossover, there is an annoying 1 ~ 2 second lag between every scene or character transition, which impedes reading enjoyment. Assuming the entire story takes 30 – 40 hours to finish, the extra 1 ~2 second lag really adds up to wasted time

    • Okay, I wish they had a read-me that told me that. And the lag really isn’t THAT bad, especially after playing Gift on the iphone for a while (speaking of which, I’m NEVER touching that game, EVER, AGAIN.)

      Sigh…Kirikiri IS the best, after all.

  5. i’m better at reading traditional, simplified takes some time and guesswork for me.

    but i guess this means Choux and I can understand each other? Maybe I should write in Chinese on the blog from now on as our secret code together.

    • Ah, you’re right. I didn’t realize that because the games were on different computers (never knew how big of a difference speakers made until today).

  6. A pro for crossover is that it’s translated into traditional Chinese even though simplified is easier on your eyes? I guess that’s an objective viewpoint since I would have thought you would say it’s a con.

    I had no idea a Taiwan company called T-time was even present. I went to that popular computer game store (5/6 floor) place which name I cannot remember, but I never recalled spotting Chinese translated xbox 360 games, port or not. Thus I was only aware of the Taiwan company FutureDigi and their translations of say, Pulltop games [from their website, they started in 2006 it seems].

    I’m almost surprised there were no like, computer compatibility issues. Personally I’ve found Taiwan game company games unable to run on non-Chinese OS, though since these are effectively translations, this issue doesn’t occur.

    The “there isn’t even an option to change resolutions or scroll back to stuff you read before, can you believe that?” comes as a bit of a shocker only because PS2 visual novels seem to definitely have scroll back features. The PS2 games having no resolution change is fine because the console game itself wouldn’t opt to do that at all (while a port absolutely should/would).

    I generally prefer PC due to the original spawning point. If there are voice changes, I’d prefer the PC as it either seems more fitting, was the original spawning point, or doesn’t use a VA that’s overly familiar (or it actually is, with a different name). Well, the only example I can think of is Akasaka because I rarely play both the PC and the PS2 version (the other example was Koitate but there was only a voice addition + new characters, but no voice changes)

    There’s no denying that the extended content is interesting. It uses makes it plausible as it being not being a fandisc, tends to have story relevance or more detail orientation.

    This console review makes me want to dig a Chinese dictionary (certain narratives use Chinese text that you’d probably only find in a literature novel) and run through Haruka ni Aogi, Uruwashi no since my Chinese isn’t fluent enough to full comp a visual novel (although summarizing what happened is insanely easy due to certain obviousness via text or picture).

    • It’s pro because it’s completely translated, unlike the simplified, which is only partially finished.

      T-time is actually a pretty influencial company as far as I can tell, though they also do a lot of Chinese games (ie.produced in China), and all their games are for all ages.

      I have my local set to Chinese, so that’s probably the reason that the game works. This might be a translation, but there was never a PC version of 11eyes Crossover, even in Japan, so a lot of the programming was done in Taiwan.

      11eyes Crossover was produced for the Xbox 360, and I found out later that there IS the scroll back option, though still no full screen.

      If you can, PLEASE play Haruka ni Aogi, it is fantastic (though not the twin tail redhead or the funny one, those routes were…odd).

  7. “Hence, I kinda wish T-Time did a better job at 11eyes”

    What’s wrong with their translation? Granted, I’ve only gone through 2 scenes, but the quality seems fine to me, wayyyyyyyyyy better than commercial English ones anyways.

    Wow that last post was so long. First of all, I think it should be pretty obvious that she meant the pro for CrossOver as in that it is fully translated, where as the fan translation is only 60% done.

    No idea how you haven’t heard of T-Time if you a) played visual novels, or b) Live in Taiwan. They’ve been translating all age galge long before Future Digi was ever formed, not to mention they produce shit tons of PC games as well. Or you may simply know them as 光譜資訊.

    I’ve NEVER had any issue running Taiwanese games on any version of my English Windows. Some of them requires AppLocale or NTLEA but that’s about it.

    No idea what visual novels you’ve been playing, but almost every single PC release after 2000 that I’ve played has a history feature. Most don’t offer different resolutions, but at the same time, they allow full screen, unlike T-Time’s 11Eyes release.

    Also, honestly, unless your Chinese is at least local middle school level, I’d suggest you just ATLAS the original Japanese games.

    • Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t talking about the translation, I was referring to the programming. Granted, they had programmed worst things in the past (remember11 and memories off 5) and yes, 11eyes is probably their best port to date. But there are some minor issues they should have addressed before releasing it. The backlog button should have been mapped to the mouse’s middle wheel, as most convention VN does. Why they decided to map that function to “J” button is beyond my understanding

      There is a slight lag between transitions, but like Choux mentioned, it’s actually not that bad. But I do hope they release a patch that could ease up the lag a bit. (unless it’s probably just my computer)

  8. ps Haruka ni Aogi, Uruwashi no is a great game but a really, really long game. From what I recall there’s around a dozen full length routes. Might be something for you to keep in mind in deciding whether to start reading that or not

    • Yes wakamoto, the sheer length of the game is brutal when I can’t read fluently. However, because the reviews I’ve read of the game all state that it’s recommended or really good (including yourself just now), it was a far easier pick to purchase when I was looking for a visual novel to purchase. Reading it has been challenging but the merits of the game show vividly. [Ironically the descriptive narration in the beginning of the game happened to use Chinese words I pretty much never seen before due to describing the forest/swamp/mountain/landscape/etc.]

      [Actually there were specific visual novels I was hoping would be in Taiwan, but alas they weren’t there.]

      After you mentioned T-time in Chinese, it looks more familiar (though my unfamiliarity with Taiwanese companies still makes no bell ring. Only Softstar rings a bell due to history of “Rich X” games, where x is a number between 1 and 8.).

      I should have mentioned FutureDigi felt a little more recent (last trip to Taiwan was November 2009 where I actually went to a computer store to specifically seek visual novels). Prior to 2009 it was hard enough to find visual novels at the local American store and by the time I got around to wanting to buy it, it’s out of print. Thus, the pool of visual novels in English that were actually localized are actually extremely tiny. Even then, Japanese->English is far more bumpy than Japanese->Chinese which can be quite smooth.

      I don’t live in Taiwan, so the last trip (before 2009), which was roughly summer 2007 was around (or before) the time I learned of visual novels or started to get into them. At that time I didn’t particularly look for any in stores, so even though they existed it didn’t quite stand out. Other games seemed to have stood out more easily whether it was a Softstar game, Princess Maker 4, or a Japanese translated game that has visual novel properties but has more emphasis in statistics or RPG gameplay.

      So my unfamiliarity would be why T-time doesn’t ring a bell, as I never tried a game they translated either (certainly KID games were around for quite a while, but I also wasn’t really aware of it post 2007). The timing of when I last tried running Softstar games (or just a CD spawning from Taiwan that’s a game) is also during the time when I was not fully aware of the programs applocale or NTLEA.

      Thanks for correcting me on the Console pro pointer. I paid so much attention to the word “traditional” that I bypassed the word “entirely” because I remembered the simplified preference from previous posts. That and I am unaware of the percentage progress of any Chinese translation. I had seen PS2 ports to PC before, but not so much xbox360 ports to PC (in regards to a visual novel that is).

      The history feature pointer I was commenting how I’m surprised it wasn’t on the 360 game because PS2 ones have them. I am aware PC ones have them but I guess since I went off tangent too quickly it may have sounded like I assumed PC VNs have no history feature. I don’t have a VN on the 360, so I would have no idea about the functionality of the 11eyes game system on the console.

      In terms of ATLAS, the first/last time I used it, I likely set it up wrong, because the English was so broken it made babelfish look good. I only tried it on one game though. I was better off trying to read the original text and hearing the voice.

      In terms of Chinese, mine’s not sufficient enough to fully extract text from a novel. So even if I can get the main idea, I definitely lose out on quirks, small detail and wordplay.

      I definitely saw the KID games. I definitely did not see 11eyes. I definitely was looking at the wrong places because each store had the same exact pool of visual novels. [The visual novels I was blindingly hoping existed in those stores were never translated, nor there.]

      Since I had bought games before which didn’t necessarily run on my laptop (like Softstar games which wouldn’t even start up, or even Princess Maker 4 translated to Chinese which ran like half the time but the CD sounded like it was scratching and going crazy.), I wasn’t sure a visual novel would run on my computer (only due to the past incidences), so I vied for only one visual novel. Out of the available pool, the Pulltop game got the nod.

      I was going to re-attempt the insertion of a Softstar game CD to see if it worked in 2009, if it wasn’t for the fact that my cousin completely misplaced it when I left it in Taiwan since it worked on the computers in Taiwan. Ah, compatibility issues … (or even region locking since 11eyes for the xbox360 might be NTSC-J and not work on an NTSC xbox360.)

      I’ve looked around for visual novels, but because it’s hard to come across a good one that’s available in English, (they do exist, but they are very few no doubt), naturally I would look at blogs that scope reviews of ones in other languages that don’t have English translations, but are probably good/decent games. So despite some familiarity, a lot of things appear quite new to me.

      That and I still can’t fluently read in Chinese. Easy Chinese text sure, but definitely not certain components/lines of visual novels that utilize significantly more detail. It is a bit easier than Japanese which I can’t read at all though. At least I can attempt to read in Chinese, just extremely slowly. For the Pulltop game, the slow speed on an already long game is a bit of a nightmare when there’s a lot of text I can’t read, like certain scenery narratives or specific names. [It felt like it took over two hours for me to read and click through the reading getting each phrase and sentence definition and the protag hadn’t reached the school yet. Summarizing the lines wasn’t difficult but I couldn’t read every word at normal speed if it was a descriptive narrative. Dialogue was easier due to voice since some phrases heard are very much familiar.]

      Should make a little bit more sense that I wasn’t aware of the Taiwan or even the Chinese scene of visual novels, as I don’t traverse in Asia often at all. If it sounded confusing, it’s probably because I can’t exactly navigate a website entirely in Chinese smoothly. (Yeah if I did live in Taiwan and played visual novels in Chinese already, with Chinese as a first language instead of English, it would indeed seem ridiculous that I don’t know what T-time is.) I’ve tried trial versions of visual novels in Japanese, and while the main point/summary/scenario can be understood rather easily, I pretty much miss all the narration and dialogue.

      • Don’t worry, Atlas hates me too.

        Also, I don’t think that locations matters as long as you have love. I got familiar with the Chinese VN scene after I left China (ironically enough), so if you try hard enough I’m sure you’ll have no problems (all you need is love).

  9. Yea, I agree that T-Time VNs usually have horrible interface. Symphonic Rain and Solfege comes to mind….

    Glad to see Future Digi games finally hitting the shelf. For the longest time, they only accept online orders, and the translation quality is pretty good.

    Never played a 360 VN, but I’d imagine they have a history/backlog feature, since most 21st century PC and PS2 ones have it.

    If you don’t mind playing games in Chinese, I strongly recommend the Wind Fantasy series. Best SRPGs I’ve ever played and phenomenal storyline. Too bad there’s like 7 of them each of them weighing in dozens of game play and reading hours.

    • Wind fantasy… I saw them before but always turned away. Unless there’s a trainer (like Utawarerumono) or an incredibly easy mode (like Tears to Tiara), I fail and never get anywhere with the story.

    • Ah, Wind Fantasy……I played 4,5,6 and double cross. Which reminds me, when is Funyours going to resume working on the series?! Double Cross ended on a cliffhanger!

  10. Pretty sure they’ll keep working on it. I mean I got the first game almost a decade ago and they are still making more. I think the problem is that the world they created with the series has gotten so big and so complex they don’t really know how to end it.

    There’s trainer for it in additional to the easy mode, but the game play is as good if not better than the storyline (especially 6, double cross not so much…. at least the story is always consistently great)

Leave a Reply

