I know what you watched this summer…

Okay so I lied I don’t, so why don’t you tell me what you’ll all be watching? I’ll even start you off with one of my picks, the seriously creepy Shiki.

Reasons to watch? Well Gackt will be providing a voice (waits for the fangirling to die down). But for me the main point is that its based on the story by Fuyumi Ono.

If you know me at all you’ll know I’m a HUGE fan of Ghost Hunt, so the fact Fuyumi is related to this project is a major win for me. If the show is anywhere near as creepy as the manga I’ll definitely be hooked.

But you know, by now people should know not to move to isolated mountain villages. Sure they are pretty and idyllic, that is until the mysterious deaths start and trust me, they always do…

Actually the summer season seems to have a common theme of dark and spooky. Which makes me ridiculously happy, but whether or not any of the shows are of worth will remain to be seen.

Take Kuroshitsuji II for instance…

I love, love, love Kuroshitsuji and not just because Sebastian is seriously the hottest British Butler ever. No seriously he is, I’m British so i should know! Usually they are depicted as boring, crusty old farts. I mean much as I love Batman, you can’t really describe Alfred as hawt now can you? Plus he doesn’t have fantastic demonic powers, so Sebby wins on that score too.

I love the whole package, the gothic design, the black humor, the seriously twisted story. So far from the trailer it all looks like its intact.
Which brings me to the one glaring problem I see with Kuroshitsuji II.

It isn’t based on Sebastian and Ciel!!!! I might be pleasantly surprised by it, but I doubt Claude will ever top the devilish and sinister Sebastian, so we’ll see how it goes.

Much as I will tread carefully for for Nurarihyon no Mago

I enjoy the manga, its one of the few shounen titles that I read. I used to read a lot, but I’ve been sucked into a slew of Shoujo and Josei stuff of lately.

Poor hubby he decided to check out Butterflies, Flowers after I left a copy lying around. Was happy about the smut but isn’t sure if he likes it or not.
He’s not sure about the humor, but Yoshihara keeps me in fits most of the time and I like the fact both her female and male characters are complete morons at times. Somehow seems less sexist that way, oh but I digress.

I quickly got sucked into Nurari (deal with it I can’t be arsed to keep writing out the title) because well its choc full of youkai. If there is one thing Sakura loves its YOUKAI!

Blame Rumiko Takahashi, who sucked me into the world of hawt demons. I dare anyone to deny that Sesshoumaru from InuYasha is anything but seriously hawt.

Its not purely based on looks though, I love ghost stories, myths, legends or what not. They are just seriously fun and I love all the different types of youkai that are constantly popping up in this manga.

Which of course is the problem with Shounen in general since at some point the monster/bad guy of the week with obligatory power up to defeat said bad guy, can get kind of old. But the same can be said for all the shoujo crap I read to and yet I continue to torture myself with that.

Much as sitting through Highschool of the Dead might be torture…

Its got everything I should love. Zombies, violence, blood, guts and the all important gore. But will that be enough for me to be able to overlook the bountiful breasts and plethora of panty shots? We’ll have to see I guess.

At least I won’t have to be concerned with fanservice while checking out Occult Academy

A school dedicated to the study of the occult!!!!! Why was I not given the option to go this school? I would be its top student, I love to read about the supernatural, getting to do nothing but study it sounds like an awesome curriculum to me.

But see there is also time travel involved here and I suck at physics so that kind of dampers down my enthusiasm just a tad.

Thankfully there will be no time travel for me to try and wrap my brain around in Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi

Apparently this is a love comedy based around the parody of fairy tales. With a member of the ‘fixer’ club Ookami Ryoko going around fixing problems in the school.

Besides Ryoshi looks really scared in that picture and Ryoko almost looks like a tall version of Taiga from Toradora. If she has half as much rawr, this could be fun indeed. See I’m not all doom and gloom when it comes to what I like XD

Oh wait I said I was going to start you all off by talking about one and yet I went through all my picks. I see what you guys did there, sneaky, sneaky people that you are, getting me to talk about them for you!

22 thoughts on “I know what you watched this summer…

  1. i’ll wach Shiki and HSotD for sure then I’ll watch some first episode of each show and get my favorites recommendations from blogsuki, and randomcuriosity like always to make my final list. And of course I’ll watch one of my new favorite mecha manga adapted into anime : the first break blade movie comes out in dvd at then end of July.

  2. I’m looking at High School of the Dead and Sengoku Basara as my top two for the new season. I’m honestly not much into the horror genre (outside of zombies), so the big representation it’s getting in a small season is kind of useless for me.

    I’ll also be watching… wait for it… Digimon. It’s my childhood, dammit! XD

    • Not a bad policy, sometimes it takes a while to get into a show or to make sure you really aren’t into it.

      I usually give a show 3 eps to make that determination, unless I seriously like it from the get go.

  3. Seems like you have excellent taste! (Read: taste similar to mine. xD) I’m so glad to read that someone else is fanboy/girling about Shiki. I adore Fuyumi Ono and loved Ghost Hunt too, haha. In addition to that, I’ve been really enjoying Shiki’s manga version – the atmosphere is absolutely brilliant – but the art irks me sometimes. I love the style in general, but it can just get so, so inconsistent and distorted. I’m really happy that the series is getting an anime adaptation because, hopefully, they’ll be able to iron out the art-kinks!

    Hmm, I think this might also be a good time to say ‘hello, nice to meet you!’ I’m Raph and I’ve been following this blog for a few months now, but this is my first time commenting. I really enjoy Choux’s and your posts! I also want to welcome you back to the aniblogosphere; I look forward to reading more of your stuff and getting to know you better! ^^

    • Yesssssss another Ghost Hunt fan, this is going to be a fantastic friendship!

      I know what you mean. I love the story, its got that familiar creepy atmosphere that Ghost Hunt has, only magnified to the extreme. Its almost choking its so thick at times.

      But I too had a hard time with the art work.

      Thank you for the warm hello I look forward to getting to know you better too and I’ll be checking out your posts too 🙂

  4. Kuroshitsuji II…


    Someone kill me now. It wasn’t enough what they did to the first season, but they DARE try to show Kuroshitsuji without my beloved CIEL? Blasphemy!

    I’m looking forward to Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi though.

    • If that main character is a girl (leg is showing = =), or is some kind of stereotypical idiot, then I will for sure stand on your side.

      But, if that guy’s a shota, or has any moe characteristics (in my standards), then I will join the opposition = =

      I know, I’m always on the fence XD

      • Ali, the main character is indeed a trap!!!!

        I’ll give it a go, but I’m not liking him from the preview. He looks a bit too whiny. I want my stoic, Ciel back and I seriously do not think Claude can be better than Sebastian.

        But I will give it a go. Though something tells me I might run crying to my manga!

    • I know, it just doesn’t seem right without Sebastian and Ciel, oh well we still have the manga on that score.

      Same here, I love my dark side, but sometimes you need a good lighthearted comedy, so I’m hopeful I’ll enjoy Ookami…

      • I’m going to take the chance to piss you off here and say that Sebastian is a lamed-down Mukuro. Also, I couldn’t get past the first five minutes of Kuroshitsuji because I thought that Ciel was a whiny brat.
        (well, I didn’t like the opening either, but…)

        Anyways, I’m going to go now so don’t kill me, please.

  5. Lol western butlers, always crusty old farts xD Well problem is… western fiction needs more main-character butlers not shuffled off into some supporting position!
    I do agree that Alois seems to be too whiny which will seriously foil the fantastic old butler-master relationship.

    But between favoritism towards violence and gore, I’m surprised Basara 2 isn’t on your list xD

    • You know I never got around to watching the first one. Yet another on my list to go back and check out!

      As for Alois, maybe we’ll luck out and that brief bit of whining we see is an act…

Leave a Reply

