Why do I feel no nostalgia?

I just read a preview chapter of Suzumiya Haruhi no Kyogaku, which by now is over 3 years overdue. It was amusing, and I can’t say it wasn’t interesting, although Haruhi’s luck with food is quite…well… See, her mother is a bad cook, and for the longest time she thought that school food was delicious and as good as food can get. That is, until she tried cooking for herself. The thing is, I get the feeling that there are people like that in this world, and somehow that just gives me an odd feeling.

Anyway, the odd thing is, I felt no nostalgia. A year ago, before the effects of endless eight set in, I felt an instant reconnection to the story. But now, I feel strangely detached. This is made worse by the fact that I can barely remember anything that happened in the last novel. Actually, I suppose I should feel proud that I at least remember some stuff, I can’t recall anything else that happened in 2007…

2 thoughts on “Why do I feel no nostalgia?

  1. I was surprised that we found out about Haruhi’s mom…I hope she actually makes an appearance later on.

    You should probably reread the novels (at least volume 9) before diving into the first chapter of volume 10. The series does become more complex after volume 4. But if you’re not that big a fan, then I suppose it doesn’t matter.

    The rest of volume 10 should be out before the end of this year, but nothing has been released since that preview chapter.

  2. Oy, if I could find the time to read all these light novels. I’m going slowly through the English releases…just bought volume 3.

    Perhaps you should watch (or rewatch) the second season anime – it’s coming out tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

